Download our guide to implementing ISO 14001

Our guide to implementing ISO 14001 tells you all you need to know about the environmental standard, and how you can implement it in your organisation in 10 easy steps. Use this guide to find out:

  • What ISO 14001 is exactly
  • The benefits it will bring your organisation
  • The costs to consider
  • How it links to other environmental standards
  • How you can use it to produce a carbon reduction plan to achieve net zero
  • How to implement it

Frequently asked questions

If you want your certificate to be recognised and accepted by all your stakeholders, you will need a certification body accredited by the UK Accreditation Service (UKAS), such as the British Standards Institute, LRQA or the British Assessment Bureau.

You can search the list of certification bodies accredited to certify to ISO 14001 on the UKAS website to help with your selection.

Where does Digital Octopii fit into the certification process?

At Digital Octopii, we are ISO consultants who help our clients implement standards and get ready for the assessments performed by the certification body.  Think of us as the teachers helping you get ready for national exams.

A gap analysis is useful if you already have several policies and procedures in place, for example if your organisation is already certified to other ISO or BS management system standards such as ISO 9001, ISO 27001 or ISO 45001.

If you’re not sure, download our ISO 14001 Requirements Checklist.  It will give you an idea of what the requirements are and whether you already have in place a good portion of what you’ll need.

If there are hardly any policies and procedures in place, a gap analysis could very well be a waste of money.  Just dive right into the implementation.

ISO 14001 is an ISO standard about environmental management, which you can use to build an Environmental Management System (EMS) that will help manage your environmental responsibilities. If you’re new to ISO 14001 and management system standards, read our blog What is ISO 14001?

The certification process for ISO 14001 requires two audits to take place, 2-3 months apart. 

  • The first audit (Stage 1) verifies that the documentation you have put in place conforms to the standard to make sure all requirements are covered;  
  • The second audit (Stage 2) verifies that the mechanisms to reduce your environmental impact are in place and working, policies and procedures are adhered to and EMS activities are being tracked and implemented.